Family Planning Eligibility Program

The Indiana Family Social Services Administration (FSSA) offers a new Medicaid program, Family Planning Eligibility Program, allowing men and women the ability to receive certain family planning services. The Family Planning Eligibility Program provides services and supplies to men and women for the primary purpose of preventing or delaying pregnancy.

Eligibility Requirements:
  • Do not qualify for any other category of Medicaid
  • Be a U.S. citizen, certain lawful permanent resident, or certain qualified documented alien
  • Cannot be pregnant
  • Have not had a hysterectomy or sterilization
  • Have income that is at or below 141% of the federal poverty level
Family Size Income Limit (Per Month)
People Income
1 $ 1,383
2 $ 1,872
3 $ 2,361
4 $ 2,850
5 $ 3,339

Covered Services:
  • Annual family planning visits
  • Pap smears
  • FDA-approved oral contraceptive, devices, and supplies, including emergency contraceptives
  • Follow-up care for complications associated with contraceptive methods
  • Initial diagnosis and treatment for Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs) and sexually transmitted infections (STIs), if medically indicated
  • Food and Drug Administration (FDA)-approved anti-infective agents for initial treatment of STD/STI
  • Laboratory tests, if medically indicated as part of the decision-making process regarding contraceptive methods
  • Tubal ligation
  • Hysteroscopic sterilization with an implant device
  • Vasectomies
Non-Covered Services:
  • Abortions
  • Artificial insemination
  • IVF (in vitro fertilization)
  • Fertility counseling
  • Fertility drugs
  • Inpatient hospital stays
  • Treatment for any chronic condition, including STDs or STIs beyond initial treatment
  • Services unrelated to family planning

To apply, click here


Was this website helpful?

Please leave us a suggestion on how we can improve this site.